Gyeonghuigung Palace 경희궁
Last admission: 1 hr before closing.
Closed on Mondays.
Seodaemun Station (line 5, exit 4). 10 mins walk.
Gyeonghuigung Palace was built by King Gwanghaegun in 1617 as secondary royal villa for stay during excursions. It was used as a place for shelter at times of emergency as well.
Due to its considerable size, many kings have worked here on state affairs. The palace was considered an important one and was also called 'the West Palace'.
For over 200 years, ten kings resided at this location.
By the early 1900s, there are about 100 buildings at Gyeonghuigung Palace.
During the Japanese occupation of Korea, most of these buildings were either destroyed or removed to make way for schools for Japanese children.
In the 1990s, reconstruction work was started to restore the decayed royal residence to its former glory.
There is a Seoul Museum of History and Seoul Museum of Art on the right and left of Honghawamun main Gate respectively at the palace ground.
KoreaToDo TOP PICKS - Tours, Activities & Discount Tickets
➥ Handpicked experiences by KoreaToDo for their uniqueness, value, popularity, price competitiveness and at times, tedious to reach by public transport.
♔ KoreaToDo recommends Klook.com, Asia leading in-destination service provider.
❀ SPRING ONLY ❀ Handpicked Experiences from Seoul
Other KoreaToDo Collection that you may like:
Still looking? Explore KoreaToDo handpicked collection of: